nubie-international.fr
nubie-international.fr
nubie-international.fr

THE KINDOMS OF NAPATA AND MEROE


In Upper and Lower Nubia, the Napatan and Meroitic episodes begin at the end of the reign of Tanwetamani (656 BC) and end around the IV Century. After this, a post-Meroitic period gives way to a new order, that of the Christian world.

 

The geographic position of the Land of the Cataracts allows Nubia to remain on the sidelines when turbulence hits the Near and Middle East: during the first half of the V Century BC, the Median wars oppose the Greeks against the Persians, while in Egypt, the Persian invasion precedes the domination of the Ptolemies.

At the crossroads of the commercial routes of the Mediterranean world and, of Sub-Saharan Africa, the kingdoms of Napata and Meroe regain the monopoly over the exchanges. The town of Alexandria and the emporia of Tripolitania are the main beneficiaries; it is through the Hellenistic world and then the Roman that the two kingdoms will enter 'modernity'.

Without denying the Egyptian achievement, the kingdoms of Napata and Meroe retrieve ancient local traditions, reasserting their own beliefs. The human component, based on the same ethnical identity, reinforces their roots, thanks to a language descended from the proto-Meroitic of Kerma. The introduction of 'indigenous' elements develops two historical phases: the kingdom of Napata (from 656 to c. 300 BC) and that of Meroe whose extinction as a state occurred in the IV Century AD, following the military campaigns of the kingdom of Axum, in present-day Ethiopia.

 

THE KINGDOM OF NAPATA

The successors of Tanwetamani: Atlanersa, Senkamanisken and Anlamani (656 to 593 BC) made Napata, located near the Fourth Cataract, the capital of the kingdom. It is likely that the latter sovereigns had the intention of re-conquering Egypt because among their titles they retained the title 'King of Upper and Lower Egypt'. As for the sphinx of Senkamanisken (643-623 BC), he always wears the pschent, the royal headdress characterising the union of the Two Lands.

nubie-international.fr
nubie-international.fr
nubie-international.fr
nubie-international.fr
nubie-international.fr
nubie-international.fr
nubie-international.fr
nubie-international.fr
nubie-international.fr
nubie-international.fr
nubie-international.fr
nubie-international.fr
nubie-international.fr
nubie-international.fr
Pyramids from Nuri's cemetery / Les pyramides de la nécropole de Nuri
Vestiges of Amon's Temple in the royal city of Méroé / Vestiges du temple d'Amon de la ville royale de Méroé
Vestiges of the Sun Temple, situated not far away of the old royal city of Meroe / Vestiges du temple du Soleil situé à proximité de l'ancienne ville royale de Méroé
Some pyramids at the northern cemetery of Meroe / Pyramides de la nécropole nord de Méroé
Northern cemetery of Meroe / Nécropole nord de Méroé
One of the temples of the great enclosure at Mussawwarat / Un des sanctuaires de la grande enceinte à Mussawwarat
Lion Temple of Apédémak at Mussawwarat / Temple du dieu Lion Apédémak à Mussawwarat
Amon's temple at Naga / Temple du dieu Amon à Naga
Rams alley before the temple of Amon at Naga / Dromos de béliers précédant l'entrée du temple d'Amon à Naga
Side view of the Amon's temple at Naga / Vue latérale du temple d'Amon à Naga
Greco-roman kiosk at Naga / Kiosque gréco-romain à Naga
Lion temple of Apedemak at Naga / temple du lion d'Apédémak à Naga
At Naga, on one wall of his temple, the lion god Apedemak wears the atef crown. He is protected by the god Horus. The ram horn of the god Amon ornaments his ear / A Naga, sur un des murs de son temple, le dieu lion Apédémak porte la couronne atef. Il est protégé par le dieu Horus. La corne de bélier du dieu Amon orne son oreille
At Naga, on the lion temple of Apedemak, bas-relief of Satis deity belonging to the triad of the First cataract. She wears on her head a vulture skin and the antelope horns / A Naga, sur le temple du dieu lion Apédémak, représentation de la déesse Satis de la triade de la Première cataracte. Elle porte sur la tête la dépouille de vautour et les cornes d'antilope

The move of the capital to Meroe at the end of the reign of Anlamani was caused by the raid of the Egyptian king Psammetic II but also by the increasing desertification around Napata. The Election Stelae of his successor, Aspelta, confirms this transfer, but his accession to the throne suggests dynastic problems.

 

The stelae written by the sovereigns, in the best Egyptian tradition, mention the edification of pious foundations and offerings made to the gods. The military campaigns are also consigned to the Annals. The royal genealogy, that stretches over three and a half centuries, nevertheless remains imprecise. The most significant kings are Anlamani, Irike-Amanote, Harsiyotf and Nastasen.

The wife of Nastasen, Sakhmakh, rose to the throne and received the name of Horus together with the title of Kandake, a title reserved for the sovereigns that had governed the country, like Nasalsa, mother of the king Aspelta.

 

THE KINGDOM OF MEROE

This kingdom had an important impact on the imagination of the ancient authors.

To learn more, click here (annexe 2)


'The Island of Meroe', as Herodotus called it, is comprised between the Atbara, the Nile, and is the inheritor of cultures going as far back as prehistory. This region is located between the Sixth and Fifth Cataracts, today called Butana, and was occupied by populations of herdsmen. It enjoyed reasonable rainfall which created areas of pasture that extended over 80 sq km. During the dry season, the Meroites use rain water collected in reservoirs, called hafirs, dug into the wadis. Nearly 800 have been found: that of Musawwarat es-Sufra measured nearly 6 m in depth and 250 m in diameter. This region was propitious to animal husbandry and to agriculture. At the beginning of our era, the production of iron seems to have held an important role.

 

'The Island of Meroe' includes the capital and its harbour, Wad Ben Naga, as well as holy towns, including Musawwarat es-Sufra. An urban network completed these settlements with Basa, el-Hassa, Hosh Ben Naga, Jebel Geili, Khartoum and Soba.

In the current state of research, it is difficult to understand the exact chronology of the kings, our understanding of the reigns often being limited to the mere mention of kings and queens, carved on the walls of the pyramid chapels or on the offering tables. Furthermore, the understanding of Meroitic writing has not yet brought enough light on the history of this period. However, there are three characters that appear in the reliefs of the temples or in the official inscriptions. It is the qore, the kandake (or Candace) and a man bearing the title of pqr.

Of profane architecture, there only remain the traces of palaces and fortresses and the location of some hafirs. The palaces were economic units that collected and distributed the products of a non-monetary economy, including the merchandises of the Mediterranean basin. These edifices were connected to the religious domain, and it is likely to have been the case of the palaces of the queen Amanishaketo at Wad Ben Naga and of the king Natakamani at Jebel Barkal.

The sovereigns and the royal family were at the heart of the funerary traditions, but in the II Century AD simplified rituals give to individuals a liturgy that guarantees eternity. The cemeteries of Meroe illustrate the apogee of the kingdom. Today a visitor will still be impressed by the number of monuments, some forty of which are pyramids. A better knowledge of these buildings has been possible thanks to restoration campaigns begun in 1976 and directed by Friedrich W. Hinkel, a great architect as well as Nubiologist.

To learn more, click here (annexe 3)


The divine world gives an important place to the Theban triad composed of Amun, Mut and their son Khonsu (Amon, Mout and Khonsou). Nevertheless, the god Bes and the goddesses Hathor, Anukis and Bastet return to favour. The cult of Osiris expanded, as well as that of Isis. The sanctuary of Philae, at the First Cataract, is the last to continue to observe the ancient cults as late as the VI Century AD and to accommodate the pilgrims coming from Nubia. As for the god Dedwn (Dedoun) associated with incense, he is honoured as far as the Second Cataract as being 'The First of Nubia'.

 

It should not be forgotten that there were local deities that receive a national cult together with the gods Apedemak, Sebiumeker 'lord of Mussawarat', Arsenuphis, Mandulis and Khaskhas whose temples take on a simplified plan, that is to say one or two rooms with a colonnade, preceded by a pylon of Egyptian type.

As for writing, the kingdom of Meroe has its own alphabet around the II Century BC. For a century, linguists have tried to decode a language that can be read but is still not understood. The pioneer was the British Egyptologist Francis Llewellyn Griffiths, who in 1911 published two volumes of Meroitic Inscriptions in Expedition to Nubia, where the meaning of some words was suggested. This brilliant researcher made a surprising discovery: that the Meroitic signs are turned the opposite way to those of Egyptian writing. Today the German school is headed by Karl Heinz Priese. The French, thanks to Jean Leclant, have compiled since 1960 in the Meroitic Epigraphic List (Répertoire d'épigraphie méroitique) several thousands of texts.

In the III Century before our era, the 'Island of Meroe' acquires a complete and distinct identity with political ramifications reaching as far as Egypt. The 'Island' entertains with the kings in Alexandria privileged relations both on the economic plane and on the cultural. Under Ptolemy II Philadelphus two new ports are created on the Red Sea, named after his mother Berenice and located at the exits of the caravan routes. The site of Soterial-Limen, the present day Port Sudan, allows access to the 'Island of Meroe' through the Nile or the Atbara river. Further south, Ptolemais-of-the-hunts is a great centre for the collection of ivory and living elephants, Ptolemy II having plans to use them in combat. Finally, Ptolemy III Evergetes creates in the extreme south the port of Adulis. The exploitation of the gold mines enriches the two parties. The tradition has it that the king Arkamani I received a Greek education from the multitude of Alexandrine litterati working at the Meroe court.

At the beginning of our era, the Meroitic kingdom is at its peak. In 23 BC its troops attack the towns of Elephantine and Aswan. The Roman response is not long in coming and Pliny the Elder relates the expedition led by the prefect of Egypt, Caius Petronius. The Meroites were defeated at Dakka and the fortress of Qasr Ibrim was taken. Did the Roman troops reach as far as Napata? The peace was signed in 21-20 BC and the border was fixed at Maharraqa, in Lower Nubia.

The peace concluded with Rome allowed the kingdom to develop and evolve, but the conquest of Dacia (Rumania) by Trajan, whose gold mines are easier of access than those of Nubia, generated a commercial network from which the kingdom of Meroe would gradually be excluded. In 298, the emperor Diocletian relocates the border to Aswan following the raids of the Blemmyes who, together with the Noba, occupied Lower Nubia. In the middle of the IV Century AD, the Abyssinian king Ezana led a campaign as far as the mouth of the Atbara river, having fought the Meroites with the aid of the Blemmyes and the Noba.

The disappearance of the great kingdom has many probable causes: the arrival of peoples coming from Darfur and Kordofan, who are thought to have created a capital at Alwa, near Khartoum, problems with the succession within the royal family and the predominance of the Noba, with as a backdrop an increasingly manifest desertification between the Sixth and Fifth Cataracts. However, if the Meroitic kingdom disintegrated into small principalities, its civilisation lasted until the emergence of Christianity, that is to say until around the VI Century of our era. Within this time we need to include a period called the post-Meroitic (between the IV and VI Centuries) which revived the traditions of the Neolithic and of the Kerma culture, with large tumuli and ritual funerary sacrifices. Ancestral customs return to the fore.

 

For more information, consult the book of Joy Soule-Nan, 'La Nubie des Pyramides'

 

EPILOGUE

The post-Meroitic episode brought to a close the destiny of the Land of the Cataracts, and seals several millennia of history. Nubia, a term that over the centuries has come to be applied to a territory extending from Kubaniah to just downriver from the Fifth Cataract, is characterised by its position at the entrance and exit from the African 'corridor'. It held the key to trade and in particular to the products indispensable to the functioning of ancient Egypt. It was an obligatory part of the route on both a geopolitical and cultural levels. Today, only traces remain, witnesses of the beliefs of another age. As Jean Leclant has written of this magnificent land, 'On the banks of a grandiose river, in the silence of near solitude, there is every morning the fascinating spectacle of the birth of the world before man came to destroy it through his modern inventions'. 


Vous êtes ici > HISTORY > Napata and Meroe
version fran├žaise english version
scn egypte soudan nil desert nubie nubia pyramides cataractes meroe kawa djebel barkal kerma ile de sai
scn egypte soudan nil desert nubie nubia pyramides cataractes meroe kawa djebel barkal kerma ile de sai

nubie-international.fr
nubie-international.fr
nubie-international.fr

LES ROYAUMES DE NAPATA ET DE MEROE


En Haute et en Basse-Nubie, les périodes napatéenne et méroïtique commencent à la fin du règne de Tanouétamani (656 av. J.-C.) et se terminent aux alentours du IVe siècle de notre ère. Puis, un épisode postméroïtique cède la place à un nouvel ordre, celui du monde chrétien.

La position géographique du Pays des Cataractes, permet à la Nubie de rester à l'écart des turbulences du Proche et Moyen-Orient : dans la première moitié du Ve siècle av. J.-C., les guerres médiques opposent les Grecs et les Perses tandis qu'en Egypte, l'invasion perse préfigure la domination des Lagides.

A la croisée des routes commerciales du monde méditerranéen et de l'Afrique subsaharienne, les royaumes de Napata et de Méroé reprennent le monopole des échanges. La ville d'Alexandrie et les emporia de Tripolitaine en sont les principaux bénéficiaires ; c'est par le monde hellénistique puis romain que les deux royaumes entreront dans la "modernité".

Sans renier l'acquis égyptien, les royaumes de Napata et de Méroé retrouvent des traditions millénaires en affirmant leurs propres croyances. La composante humaine, basée sur une même identité ethnique, conforte leurs racines, grâce à une langue issue du protoméroïtique du Kerma. L'introduction d'éléments "indigènes" développe deux phases historiques : le royaume de Napata (de 656 à env. 300 av. J.-C.) et celui de Méroé dont l'extinction, en tant qu'Etat, se produit au IVe siècle après J.-C., suite aux campagnes militaires du royaume d'Axoum, l'actuelle Ethiopie.


LE ROYAUME DE NAPATA

Les successeurs de Tanouétamani : Atlanersa, Senkamanisken et Anlamani (656 à 593 av. J.-C.) font de Napata, située au niveau de la Quatrième Cataracte, la capitale du royaume. Il est probable que ces derniers souverains eurent l'intention de reconquérir l'Egypte car dans l'énoncé de leur titulature, ils gardent les mentions "roi de Haute et de Basse-Egypte" . Quant au sphinx de Senkamanisken (643-623 av. J.-C.), il porte toujours le pschent, coiffe royale caractérisant l'union des Deux-Terres.

 

Pour en savoir plus, cliquer ici (annexe 1)


nubie-international.fr
nubie-international.fr
nubie-international.fr
nubie-international.fr
nubie-international.fr
nubie-international.fr
nubie-international.fr
nubie-international.fr
nubie-international.fr
nubie-international.fr
nubie-international.fr
nubie-international.fr
nubie-international.fr
nubie-international.fr
Pyramids from Nuri's cemetery / Les pyramides de la nécropole de Nuri
Vestiges of Amon's Temple in the royal city of Méroé / Vestiges du temple d'Amon de la ville royale de Méroé
Vestiges of the Sun Temple, situated not far away of the old royal city of Meroe / Vestiges du temple du Soleil situé à proximité de l'ancienne ville royale de Méroé
Some pyramids at the northern cemetery of Meroe / Pyramides de la nécropole nord de Méroé
Northern cemetery of Meroe / Nécropole nord de Méroé
One of the temples of the great enclosure at Mussawwarat / Un des sanctuaires de la grande enceinte à Mussawwarat
Lion Temple of Apédémak at Mussawwarat / Temple du dieu Lion Apédémak à Mussawwarat
Amon's temple at Naga / Temple du dieu Amon à Naga
Rams alley before the temple of Amon at Naga / Dromos de béliers précédant l'entrée du temple d'Amon à Naga
Side view of the Amon's temple at Naga / Vue latérale du temple d'Amon à Naga
Greco-roman kiosk at Naga / Kiosque gréco-romain à Naga
Lion temple of Apedemak at Naga / temple du lion d'Apédémak à Naga
At Naga, on one wall of his temple, the lion god Apedemak wears the atef crown. He is protected by the god Horus. The ram horn of the god Amon ornaments his ear / A Naga, sur un des murs de son temple, le dieu lion Apédémak porte la couronne atef. Il est protégé par le dieu Horus. La corne de bélier du dieu Amon orne son oreille
At Naga, on the lion temple of Apedemak, bas-relief of Satis deity belonging to the triad of the First cataract. She wears on her head a vulture skin and the antelope horns / A Naga, sur le temple du dieu lion Apédémak, représentation de la déesse Satis de la triade de la Première cataracte. Elle porte sur la tête la dépouille de vautour et les cornes d'antilope

Le déplacement de la capitale à Méroé à la fin du règne d'Anlamani eut pour cause le raid du roi égyptien Psammétique II mais également la désertification aux alentours de Napata. La stèle de l'Election de son successeur, Aspelta, confirme ce transfert. Mais son accession au trône suggère des problèmes dynastiques.

Les stèles rédigées par les souverains, dans la meilleure tradition égyptienne, font mention de l'édification de fondations pieuses et d'offrandes faites aux divinités. Les campagnes militaires sont aussi consignées dans les Annales. La généalogie royale qui s'étale sur trois siècles et demi, reste cependant imprécise. Les rois les plus significatifs sont Anlamani, Aspelta, Iriké-Amanoté, Harsiyotf et Nastasen.

L'épouse de Nastasen, Sakhmakh, monte sur le trône et reçoit un nom d'Horus avec le titre de Kandaké, appellation réservée aux souveraines qui avaient gouverné le pays comme Nasalsa, mère du roi Aspelta.


LE ROYAUME DE MEROE

Ce royaume eut un impact important sur l'imaginaire des auteurs anciens.

Cliquez ici pour en savoir plus (annexe 2)


« L' île de Méroé » appelée ainsi par Hérodote, comprise entre l'Atbara, le Nil blanc et le Nil bleu, est l'héritière de cultures remontant à la préhistoire. Cette région située entre les Sixième et Cinquième Cataractes, aujourd'hui appelée Boutana, était occupée par des populations d'éleveurs. Elle jouissait d'un régime de pluies créant des zones de pâturage qui s'étendaient sur 80 km2. A la saison sèche, les Méroïtes utilisaient l'eau collectée dans les réservoirs, appelés hafiré, creusés dans le lit des rivières. Près de 800 furent repérés ; celui de Moussaouarat es-Sofra mesurait près de 6 mètres de profondeur et 300 mètres de diamètre. Cette région était propice à l'élevage et à l'agriculture. Au début de notre ère, la métallurgie du fer semble avoir tenu un rôle important.

"L'île de Méroé" inclue la capitale et son port, Ouad Ben Naga, ainsi que les villes saintes dont Moussaouarat es-Sofra. Un réseau urbain complète ces agglomérations avec Basa, el-Hassa, Hosh Ben Naga, Djebel Qeili, Khartoum et Soba.

En l'état actuel des recherches, il est malaisé de comprendre la chronologie exacte des souverains, la compréhension des règnes se limitant souvent à la seule mention des rois et reines portée sur les parois des chapelles des pyramides ou sur les tables d'offrande. D'autre part, la compréhension de l'écriture méroïtique n'a pas encore apporté un éclairage suffisant sur l'histoire de cette période. En revanche, trois personnages apparaissent sur les bas-reliefs des temples ou dans les inscriptions officielles. Il s'agit du qoré, de la kandaké (ou Candace) et d'un homme portant le titre de pqr.

De l'architecture profane, il ne reste que les vestiges de palais ou de forteresses et l'emplacement de quelques hafiré. Les palais étaient des unités économiques qui collectaient et distribuaient les produits d'une économie non monétaire, incluant les marchandises du Bassin méditerranéen. Ces édifices étaient en relation avec le domaine religieux et c'est vraisemblablement le cas des palais de la reine Amanishakhéto à Ouad Ben Naga et du roi Natakamani au Djebel Barkal.

Les souverains et la famille royale sont au coeur du monde funéraire, cependant, au IIe siècle apr. J.-C., des rituels simplifiés donnent aux particuliers une liturgie garante d'éternité. Les nécropoles de Méroé confirment l'apogée du royaume. De nos jours, le visiteur est encore impressionné par le nombre de monuments dont une quarantaine de pyramides. Une meilleure connaissance de ces édifices a été possible grâce aux campagnes de restauration lancées en 1976 par Friedrich W. Hinkel, grand architecte et nubiologue.

Pour en savoir plus, cliquer ici (annexe 3)


Le monde divin donne une place importante à la triade thébaine composée d'Amon, de Mout et de leur fils Khonsou. Cependant, le dieu Bès et les déesses Hathor, Anoukis et Bastet font l'objet d'un regain de ferveur. Le culte d'Osiris se répand ainsi que celui d'Isis. Le sanctuaire de Philae, dans les enrochements de la Première Cataracte, est le dernier à s'adonner aux cultes antiques jusqu'au VIe siècle de notre ère et à accueillir les pèlerins venus de Nubie. Quant au dieu Dédoun, associé à l'encens, il est honoré jusqu'à la Seconde Cataracte comme étant "le Premier de la Nubie".

Il ne faut pas oublier, des divinités locales qui reçoivent un culte national avec les dieux Apédémak, Sébioumeker "seigneur de Moussaouarat", Arsénouphis, Mandoulis et Khaskhas dont les temples adoptent un plan simplifié, à savoir une ou deux pièces à colonnade protégées par un pylône de type égyptien.

Quant à l'écriture, le royaume de Méroé possède enfin son écriture aux alentours du IIe siècle av. J.-C. Depuis un siècle, les linguistes essaient de percer un idiome qui se lit mais ne se comprend toujours pas. Leur chef de file fut l'égyptologue britannique Francis Llewelyn Griffith qui publia en 1911 deux volumes des Meroitic Inscriptions dans Expedition to Nubia fixant la valeur de certains signes. Ce brillant chercheur fit une découverte surprenante : les signes méroïtiques sont tournés en sens inverse de ceux de l'écriture égyptienne. Aujourd'hui, l'école allemande s'illustre avec Karl Heinz Priese. Les Français grâce à Jean Leclant ont compilé depuis 1960 dans le Répertoire d'épigraphie méroïtique, plusieurs milliers de textes.

Au IIIe siècle av. notre ère, "L'île de Méroé" acquiert une identité à part entière avec des ramifications politiques jusqu'aux marches de l'Egypte. Elle entretient avec les souverains alexandrins des relations privilégiées tant sur le plan économique que culturel. C'est à partir de Ptolémée II Philadelphe que sont créés deux nouveaux ports sur la mer Rouge, au nom de sa mère Bérénice et situés au débouché des pistes caravanières. Le site de Soterias-Limen, l'actuel Port-Soudan, permet d'accéder à "L'île de Méroé" par le Nil ou l'Atbara. Plus au sud, Ptolémaïs-des-chasses, est un grand centre de collecte d'ivoire et d'éléphants vivants, Ptolémée II voulant en former au combat. Enfin, Ptolémée III Evergète crée dans l'extrême sud, le port d'Adoulis. L'exploitation des mines d'or enrichit les deux parties et la tradition veut que le roi Arkamani 1er ait reçu une éducation grecque par le biais de lettrés alexandrins travaillant à la cour de Méroé.

Au début de notre ère, le royaume méroïtique est à son apogée. En 23 av. J.-C., ses troupes attaquent les villes d'Eléphantine et d'Assouan. La riposte romaine ne se fait pas attendre et Pline l'Ancien relate l'expédition menée par le préfet d'Egypte, Caius Petronius. Les Méroïtes sont battus à Dakké et la forteresse de Qasr Ibrim est prise. Les troupes romaines sont-elles allées jusqu'à Napata ? La paix est signée en 21-20 av. J.-C. et la frontière est fixée à Méharraqa en Basse-Nubie.

La paix conclue avec Rome permet un essor du royaume mais la conquête de la Dacie (Roumanie) par Trajan dont les mines d'or étaient plus faciles d'accès que celles de Nubie, allait générer un mouvement commercial dont le royaume de Méroé serait peu à peu exclu. En 298, l'empereur Dioclétien ramène la frontière à Assouan suite aux razzias des Blemmyes qui, avec les Nobas, occupaient la Basse-Nubie. Au milieu du IVe siècle de notre ère, le souverain abyssin Ezana mène une campagne jusqu'au débouché de l'Atbara, ayant combattu les Méroïtes avec l'aide des Blemmyes et des Nobas.

La disparition du grand royaume a vraisemblablement plusieurs causes : l'arrivée de peuples venus du Darfour et du Kordofan qui auraient créé une capitale à Aloua, près de Khartoum, des problèmes de succession au sein de la famille royale et la prédominance des Nobas, avec pour toile de fond, une désertification de plus en plus présente entre les Sixième et Cinquième Cataractes. Cependant, si le royaume méroïtique s'est délité en petites principautés, sa civilisation a perduré jusqu'à l'émergence du christianisme, c'est-à-dire jusqu'aux alentours du VIe siècle de notre ère. Il faut y inclure une période appelée postméroïtique (entre les IVe et VIe siècles) qui retrouve des traditions du Néolithique et du Kerma avec les grands tumulus et les mises à mort rituelles. Les coutumes ancestrales reprennent leurs droits.

 

EPILOGUE

L'épisode postméroïtique clôt le destin du Pays des Cataractes et scelle plusieurs millénaires d'histoire. La Nubie, appellation étendue au cours des siècles à un territoire allant de Koubaniah jusqu'en aval de la Cinquième Cataracte, est caractérisée par sa position d'entrée et de sortie du "couloir" africain. Elle détient la clé des échanges et en particulier celle des produits indispensables au fonctionnement des rouages de l'Egypte ancienne. Elle est un passage obligé sur le plan géopolitique et culturel. Aujourd'hui, il ne nous reste que des vestiges, témoins de croyances d'un autre âge. Mais, comme l'a écrit Jean Leclant à propos de ce pays magnifique, "Au bord d'un fleuve grandiose, dans le silence d'une quasi-solitude, c'est chaque matin le spectacle fascinant de la naissance du monde avant que l'homme ne soit venu l'abîmer par ses inventions modernes".


Pour plus d'informations, consulter l'ouvrage de Joy Soulé-Nan, "la Nubie des pyramides"

 

 

Vous êtes ici > HISTOIRE > Napata et Méroé
version fran├žaise english version
scn egypte soudan nil desert nubie nubia pyramides cataractes meroe kawa djebel barkal kerma ile de sai
scn egypte soudan nil desert nubie nubia pyramides cataractes meroe kawa djebel barkal kerma ile de sai