www.nubie-international.fr
www.nubie-international.fr
www.nubie-international.fr

KAWA (east bank of the Nile)

 

Kawa is part of the ancient basin of the Wadi el Khowi, which also includes the Seleim basin. The first excavations were conducted by a Colonel Colthorne in 1885. Between 1929 and 1931, F.L. Griffith of the University of Oxford unearthed the vestiges of four temples. In 1935, M.F.L. Macadam continued the study of the reliefs and the inscriptions while L.P. Kirwan explored the vicinity of the temples. From 1993 to the present, the Sudan Archaeological Research Society, in collaboration with the British Museum, has been studying the region of the Seleim basin, including the town of Kawa and its eastern cemetery.

 

Not only have the excavations confirmed the presence of an important necropolis dating to the Kerma (2500-1450), but the work of Derek Welsby has emphasised the major role of the town in the Napatan and Meroitic periods.

 

During the New Kingdom, under Amenhotep IV (Akhenaton 1352-1336 BC), Kawa was given the new name of Gematon, 'the Aton is perceived'. The earliest remains excavated appear to date to the reign of Tutankhamun (1336-1327 BC).

 

During the XXV Dynasty, Taharqo ordered the restoration of a sanctuary and the construction of a great temple of Amun. Kawa thus became one of the four cult centres of the Nubian valley (Jebel Barkal, Pnubs and Sanam) that served as a setting for the coronation ceremonies and pilgrimages on the occasion of the yearly visit of the king.

 

In the Meroitic period, its religious function is important but Kawa is also a prosperous urban centre. Derek Welsby has demonstrated its economic role from the time of the first Kushite kings. His excavations have revealed houses, streets, a shrine and several cemeteries. In the eastern necropolis, more than 1000 burials have been identified in the form of tumuli and mastaba.

 

Today the sand dunes have covered almost the whole site. Nevertheless some major pieces have been rescued, among them the sphinx of Taharqo now on show at the British Museum. The Taharqo chapel, re-assembled in the Ashmolean Museum at Oxford gives an idea of the major role played by Kawa. This small structure was located on a lateral corridor of the hypostyle hall. On the walls, Taharqo offers bread, a pectoral (a large necklace) and a statuette of the goddess Maat to the god Amun, who is accompanied by the Theban triad and by Nubian deities such as Anukis and Satis.


See on the slide show the location of the several temples

 

www.nubie-international.fr
www.nubie-international.fr
General map of Kawa site, Macadam - 1949 (Copyright : Griffith Institute, University of Oxford) / Plan général du site de Kawa établi par Macadam - 1949 (Copyright : Griffith Institute, Université d'Oxford)
Vestiges of Amon's temple at Kawa built under the rule of the king Taharqa / Arasements du temple d'Amon édifié sous le roi Taharqa à Kawa
Vous êtes ici > ARCHAEOLOGICAL SITES > Zone 3 > Kawa
version fran├žaise english version
scn egypte soudan nil desert nubie nubia pyramides cataractes meroe kawa djebel barkal kerma ile de sai
scn egypte soudan nil desert nubie nubia pyramides cataractes meroe kawa djebel barkal kerma ile de sai

nubie-international.fr
nubie-international.fr
nubie-international.fr

KAWA (rive est Nil)


Kawa fait partie de l'ancien bassin du Ouadi el-Khowi incluant le bassin de Seleim. Les premières fouilles commencent en 1885 grâce à un militaire, le colonel Colthorne. De 1929 à 1931, F. L. Griffith de l'université d'Oxford met au jour les vestiges de quatre temples. En 1935, M.F.L. Macadam y poursuit l'étude des bas-reliefs et des inscriptions tandis que L.P.Kirwan fouille les abords des temples. De 1993 à 1997, la Sudan Archaeological Research Society en collaboration avec le British Museum étudie la région du bassin de Seleim incluant la ville de Kawa et son cimetière Est. Les fouilles de Ch. Bonnet confirment la présence d'une importante nécropole dès le Kerma (environ 2500-1450 avant notre ère). Les travaux de D. Welsby mettent en valeur le rôle majeur de la ville à l'époque napatéenne et méroïtique.


Au Nouvel Empire, sous Amenhotep IV (Akhénaton 1352-1336 av. notre ère), Kawa prend le nom de Gematon "Aton est visible". Les premiers vestiges excavés semblent dater du règne de Toutankhamon (1336-1327 av. J.-C.).

Durant la XXVe dynastie, Taharqa ordonne la restauration d'un sanctuaire puis la construction du grand temple d'Amon. Kawa s'inscrit dans un espace cultuel qui fait partie des quatre centres religieux de la vallée nubienne (Djebel Barkal, Pnoubs et Sanam) servant de cadre aux cérémonies de couronnement et de pèlerinage lors de la visite annuelle du roi.


A l'époque méroïtique, sa fonction religieuse est importante puisque ville royale mais Kawa est aussi un centre urbain prospère. D. Welsby a démontré son rôle économique dès les premiers rois koushites. Les fouilles ont révélé des maisons, des rues, des places et plusieurs cimetières. Dans la nécropole Est, plus de 1000 complexes funéraires ont été identifiés sous la forme de tumuli (buttes située au-dessus de la tombe) et de mastaba (structure rectangulaire, généralement en pierre, construite au-dessus du tombeau).


Aujourd'hui, les dunes recouvrent pratiquement tout le site. Cependant, des oeuvres ont été sauvées comme le sphinx de Taharqa exposé au British Museum (Londres). La chapelle de Taharqa, remontée à l' Ashmolean Museum (Oxford) donne une idée du rôle essentiel de Kawa. Ce petit édifice était placé dans une allée latérale de la salle hypostyle du grand temple d'Amon. Sur les parois, le souverain offre un pain, un pectoral (grand collier), une statuette de la déesse Maât au dieu Amon. Celui-ci est accompagné de la triade thébaine et de divinités nubiennes telles que Anoukis et Satis.

Voir dans diaporama, le plan de situation des differents temples

 

nubie-international.fr
nubie-international.fr
General map of Kawa site, Macadam - 1949 (Copyright : Griffith Institute, University of Oxford) / Plan général du site de Kawa établi par Macadam - 1949 (Copyright : Griffith Institute, Université d'Oxford)
Vestiges of Amon's temple at Kawa built under the rule of the king Taharqa / Arasements du temple d'Amon édifié sous le roi Taharqa à Kawa
Vous êtes ici > SITES ARCHÉOLOGIQUES > Zone 3 > Kawa
version fran├žaise english version
scn egypte soudan nil desert nubie nubia pyramides cataractes meroe kawa djebel barkal kerma ile de sai
scn egypte soudan nil desert nubie nubia pyramides cataractes meroe kawa djebel barkal kerma ile de sai