nubie-international.fr
nubie-international.fr
nubie-international.fr

THE MODERN EXPLORERS


The building of the two Aswan dams in Egyptian Nubia, induces three archaeological campaigns where the researches are made according to the different phases of construction and raising.

 

In 1907, the profits of the cotton production motivate the Anglo-Egyptians to proceed at the first upper elevation of the "small dam" planned by the British engineer Willcocks. This dam had the particularity to let the mud to go through and up to the North before the new flood, but Lower Nubia was immersed until Ouadi es-Seboua (over 160 km).

 

To learn more, click here (annexe 1)

 

Another two upper elevations in 1912 and 1934 (about 10 m high), drowns Lower Nubia until the Egypto-Sudanese border. Some lands are only useful in June and July when the dam water-gates are opened in order to empty the reservoir lake.

 

Gaston Maspero (1846-1916), Auguste Mariette's successor at the head of the Egyptian Antiquities of Egypt, commands two surveys: one, about the temples which will be put under water and another one about the threatened area. The results? Since Aswan until Abou Simbel, the temples of Philae, Debod, Kertassi, Taffa, Beit el-Ouali, Kalabsha, Dendour, Gerf Hussein, Dakke, Meharraqa, Ouadi es-Seboua, Amada, Derr and El-Lessiya, will disappear.

 

From 1907 to 1911, Maspero asks to a scientific group to index the remains temples. Their works are compiled in the publication: Temples immergés de la Nubie. The survey is entrusted to the American George A. Reisner with the help of Cecil M. Firth. Over 200 km and until Derr, situated South-West of the old Ouadi es-Seboua, all Lower Nubia is explored "metre by metre, Nord-South and again in South-North" according to Jean Vercoutter.

 

This first campaign allows a very important compiling. In 1911, Maspero writes in his Documents, the state of Lower Nubia Temples and the Anglo-Saxons publish The Archaeological Survey of Nubia in Cairo (1905, 1912, and 1927). Other Scientifics work in Lower Nubia: H. Junker at Toschka and G. Steindorff at Aniba, former residence of the Egyptians vice-kings during the New Empire (about 1450-1050 BC).

 

To learn more, click here (annexe 2)

 

Société des Cultures Nubiennes

From 1929 to 1934, the second upper elevation is preceded by a similar campaign, the immersion reaching the Adindan area. The prospecting is given to the British W.B. Emery and L.P. Kirwan who publish in 1935: Excavation and Survey Between Wadi es-Sebua and Adindan (1929-1931). The results confirm the works of their predecessors and are completed by a study on the Royal Tombs of Ballana and Qustul (Cairo 1938). In 1950, a compiling of thirty volumes allows to say that Lower Nubia was, in some archaeological way, better known that Egypt itself !

 

What about Sudanese Nubia? Although the Middle Nile area was not threatened, the Oriental Institute of Chicago sends in 1906, a mission led by J.H. Breasted. Next year, a report is published. In the same time, the American Reisner (1867-1942) puts in light the Sudanese Archaeology. He is Richard Lepsius' successor and discovers Kerma civilization near the Third Cataract.

 

To learn more, click here (annexe 3)

 

In the years 1940, A.J. Arkell studies the prehistoric period. His researches are on the great phases of the Pleistocene (the Paleolithic) and Holocene (the Mesolithic and the Neolithic). He publishes in 1949 : The Old Stone Age in the Anglo-Egyptian Sudan and Early Khartoum. His successor, P.L. Shinnie, writes Koush, first Antiquities Service publication .

 

In 1956, when Sudan gets its independence, the Direction of Antiquities and Anthropology is given to Jean Vercoutter (1956-1960), first French Archaeologist to work in Sudan. He has the big responsibility to save a maximum of temple remains with a minimum of means during the construction of the High-Dam of Aswan.

His works show the importance of the disappeared monuments and the damage for the Sudanese patrimony.

 

Vous êtes ici > THE DISCOVERERS > Modern explorers
version fran├žaise english version
scn egypte soudan nil desert nubie nubia pyramides cataractes meroe kawa djebel barkal kerma ile de sai
scn egypte soudan nil desert nubie nubia pyramides cataractes meroe kawa djebel barkal kerma ile de sai

nubie-international.fr
nubie-international.fr
nubie-international.fr

LES EXPLORATEURS MODERNES


L'édification des deux barrages d'Assouan, en Nubie égyptienne, provoque trois campagnes archéologiques où les recherches sont menées au rythme de leur construction et leur élévation.

En 1907, les rendements positifs de la production cotonnière encouragent les Anglo-Egyptiens à procéder à la première surélévation du "Petit Barrage" conçu par l'ingénieur britannique Willcocks. Il avait la particularité de laisser passer le limon avant la nouvelle crue, mais inondait la Basse-Nubie jusqu'à Ouadi es-Séboua sur 160 km.

Pour plus d'infos, cliquer ici et lire annexe 1

 

Deux surélévations (1912 et 1934) sur une hauteur de 10 mètres noient la Basse-Nubie jusqu'à la frontière égypto-soudanaise. Quelques terres demeurent cependant utilisables en juin et en juillet lorsque les vannes du barrage sont ouvertes pour en vider le réservoir.

Gaston Maspéro (1846-1916), successeur d'Auguste Mariette à la direction générale du Service des Antiquités de l'Egypte, ordonne d’une part un relevé de tous les sanctuaires susceptibles d'être immergés, et d’autre part une prospection de la zone menacée. Depuis Assouan jusqu'à Abou Simbel, les temples les plus menacés sont  Philae, Débod, Kertassi, Taffa, Beit el-Ouali, Kalabsha, Dendour, Gerf Hussein, Dakké, Méharraqa, Ouadi es-Séboua, Amada, Derr et El-Lessiya.

 

De 1907 à 1911, il charge un groupe de savants de répertorier les vestiges, et leurs travaux sont compilés dans Temples immergés de la Nubie. La prospection est confiée à l'Américain George A.Reisner assisté du Britannique, Cecil M. Firth. Sur 200 kilomètres et jusqu'à Derr, situé au sud-ouest de l'ancienne Ouadi es-Séboua, toute la Basse-Nubie est explorée et, selon l'expression de Jean Vercoutter, «mètre par mètre dans le sens nord-sud et à nouveau dans le sens sud-nord ».

Cette première campagne fait l'objet d'ouvrages importants. En 1911, Maspéro réunit dans sa série Documents, l'état des temples de Basse-Nubie et les Anglo-Saxons rédigent The Archaeological Survey of Nubia, objet de parutions successives au Caire en 1905, 1912 et 1927 (pour la seconde surélévation). D'autres savants travaillent en Basse-Nubie : H. Junker à Toschka et G. Steindorff à Aniba, lieu de résidence des vice-rois égyptiens au Nouvel Empire (env. 1450-1050 av. J.C.)

 

Pour plus d'infos, cliquer ici et lire annexe 2

 

Société des Cultures Nubiennes

De 1929 à 1934, la seconde surélévation est précédée d'une campagne similaire, l'immersion devant atteindre la région d'Adindan. La prospection est confiée aux Britanniques W.B. Emery et L.P. Kirwan et donne lieu en 1935 à une publication : Excavation and Survey Between Wadi es-Sebua and Adindan (1929-1931). Les résultats confirment les travaux de leurs prédécesseurs et sont complétés par une étude sur les Royal Tombs of Ballana and Qustul (le Caire 1938).

En 1950, une documentation d'environ trente volumes permet d'affirmer que la Basse-Nubie était archéologiquement mieux connue que l'Egypte elle-même !

Qu'en est-il en Nubie soudanaise ? Bien que la région du Moyen Nil se soit pas menacée, en 1906, l'Oriental Institute de Chicago envoie une expédition dirigée par J.H. Breasted. L'année suivante un rapport est publié. Parallèlement, l'Américain Reisner (1867-1942) donne à l'archéologie soudanaise ses premières lettres de noblesse. Il prend la relève de Richard Lepsius et découvre la civilisation de Kerma au niveau de la Troisième Cataracte.

 

Pour plus d'infos, cliquer ici et lire annexe 3

 

Dans les années 1940, A.J. Arkell aborde le domaine de la préhistoire. Ses recherches portent sur les grandes phases du Pleistocène (le Paléolithique) et l'Holocène (le Mésolithique et le Néolithique). Il publie en 1949 : The Old Stone Age in the Anglo-Egyptian Sudan and Early Khartoum. Son successeur, P.L. Shinnie, fait éditer Koush, première revue du Service des Antiquités.

Lorsque le Soudan accède à l'indépendance en 1956, la direction des Antiquités et de l'Anthropologie est confiée à Jean Vercoutter (1956-1960), premier archéologue français à travailler au Soudan. Il a la lourde tâche de sauver un maximum de vestiges avec un minimum de moyens lors de la construction du second barrage. Ses travaux démontrent l'importance des monuments disparus et le préjudice que subit le Soudan, faute d'avoir eu les moyens de mener des fouilles exhaustives.

 

 

version fran├žaise english version
scn egypte soudan nil desert nubie nubia pyramides cataractes meroe kawa djebel barkal kerma ile de sai
scn egypte soudan nil desert nubie nubia pyramides cataractes meroe kawa djebel barkal kerma ile de sai